The Most Influential Print Ads on The Markets

Have you ever seen a print ad and thought, “wow, maybe i’ll try out that product” or “I never thought about this issue that way”. For many of us, this happens everyday. My question is through what type of print ads this is most effective. In class we have been discussing the different types of advertisement: Sadvertisement, Happy advertisement etc. We all make personal connections with different ads based on personal experiences and beliefs. I want to know if there is one over others that produces the biggest buzz and intrigues the most people.

In my personal opinion I think funny and humorous ads are most effective for myself. A lot of times when I see an ad that I think is funny I am likely to remember that ad and reference it to other people, and therefore spreading awareness of a company’s products etc. With that being said I also think sometimes funny ads are harder for me to remember what the purpose of the ad is for and only focus on the funny element added.

This is an example of Wolf Hot Sauce

Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 1.39.59 PM

If I saw this on a hand dryer I would more likely to remember the image of the man versus what the advertisement was trying to promote. Although when I analyze this ad I think that it is a clever and funny way to promote a type of hot sauce, I do not think that this would be effective for me.

With that being said, I also think that there are ads that I would totally make connections between the advertisement and the product. This is an advertisement for Sharp knives. I would make the connection between the two and be likely to remember the product and it would improve my remembrance of the product because of the clever advertisement.

Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 1.41.03 PM

Next I want to talk about Sadvertisements. I think these advertisements can be helpful because when I look at them I am more likely to find personal connection with it and take it serious. The first image of the woman who is a victim of physical abuse. This would definitely pull my attention and make me want take action and fight abuse in general. On the other hand, the second image in my opinion would not be effective for me. I think if I saw this on the street I would be turned off by the visual image and immediately look away instead of focusing on the purpose of the ad.

Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 1.42.37 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 1.42.41 PM

Lastly I want to talk about informative print ads. There are plenty of ads that are strictly used to relay information to the public. Sometimes This can be boring and not effective because people may be turned away from an ads a lack of images and excitement. Also some people do not like to read, they would rather look at a picture with fun visuals.

Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 1.44.32 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-16 at 1.44.37 PM

What types of print ads influence you the most and which do you think are the least effective?

3 thoughts on “The Most Influential Print Ads on The Markets

  1. I think that print advertisements are some of the strongest form of advertisements – because of their staying power. A commercial will last only thirty seconds before you move on. If you’re captivated by a print advertisement, you will look at it longer and it’s in your possession.

    Like

  2. I think print advertisements are great because there is a lot that you can do with print ads that you can’t with online advertisements. Print ads are in your face and easily draw attention. They can be used to inform in more detail, use strong images and advertise in very creative ways. I really like the hot sauce ad because it’s very creative. While it may not make me buy the hot sauce, it’s image will stay in my mind and can definitely see other people purchasing it.

    Like

  3. I typically feel more persuaded by digital advertising. I am a really visual type of person and I feel like print ads are harder for me to be drawn to or even focus on. When I see ads in magazines I usually just continue to flip the page until I get to the article of the magazine that I actually wanted to read. When I see ads while i’m out and about like on billboards etc., I usually ignore those too. So commercial type advertisements stand out to me more. The types of commercials I usually catch myself remembering are the ones that are failure commercials or sometimes controversial ones too. I remember terrible commercials more because I think about how bad the commercial was and then it makes me analyze what I would’ve done differently or how I would’ve improved it. I also enjoy funny ads but I agree that sometimes I forget what the point of them was because it can sometimes be distracting

    Like

Leave a comment