#FixTheInternet

#FixTheInternet has become an Internet sensation. After Kim Kardashian decidedly took her clothes off for a Paper Magazine image she posted it to Twitter. This has lead to a multitude of meme’s and Twitter posts under the hashtag. The image has been running ramped throughout the Internet. Now the picture was taken for PaperMag to show “fashion” and in showing “fashion items” the post did some damage to the Internet.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.30.11 PM

So many people were attempting to use the servers that it almost crashed. It was news because of the nudity, but also a headline because of the almost crash. Now Twitter has taken charge of this. There are multiple posts going around stating:

 Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.39.03 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.39.11 PM

I question if this is what is breaking the Internet, what are we teaching the generations who use and see this media? There is no advertising technique to this, but more shock value and self promotion. The shock was done by Rolling Stone magazine with Miley Cyrus when she was younger in a more artistic way to promote herself. Social media has taken on a new type of advertising and is showing younger people that this is something that is acceptable and can be used as business tactics. Nudity is getting more accepted into the advertising world, but should it be used as a way to promote “fashion”?

5 thoughts on “#FixTheInternet

  1. I believe that Kim Kardashian’s stunt was certainly ridiculous, but clearly, it worked. She generated an insane amount of buzz from these photographs and put herself out there, which was probably the goal. Though I’m still not entirely sure what she was famous for in the first place, she is undoubtedly more famous now.

    Like

  2. I found this in terrible fashion, to say the lest. Yes, it got her what she wanted, but the contradicted herself on levels that cant even be measured. Years ago she gasped when asking to pose nude, and now look. Also, she only got famous from a sex tape…ironic.

    Like

  3. I don’t see the fashion in Kim Kardashian’s spread at all. While some sources cite it as “fashion,” her and others cite it as “art.” And while I can understand the cohesive nature between the two, I feel that they completely miss the point in attempting to “break the internet.”

    Like

  4. Nudity is nothing new for parts of the world. I’ve traveled quite a bit for my young age, and I recall in both Paris and the South of France, it was not unusual to see a nude or partially exposed man or woman in ads both in print or in public spaces. I think America is catching up and possibly sheddding its puritanical cape. We’ve been so hypocritical in how we deal with sex and sexual elements in everything from ads, to movies, to music, etc.

    Breaking the internet to me would mean when I click on Safari [or Internet Explorer, Fire Fox, whatever], the window will be black, with no option for me to go anywhere. I don’t know if the idea behind Kim Kardashian was that so many people would go online to find her photos from the photoshoot, and then that would crash the internet, or something else. I think nudity is part shock, it’s also statement making. I know for her, the sex tape is a blessing and regret that cloaks her in everything she does, wears, or says. In some ways I think she is trying to reclaim something through this photoshoot and say something. I heard that she did it largely so as to work with the famous photographer, and for free!

    Fashion is about art and commerce, her Paper Magazine project was about art and commerce. In the end, it is everyone’s choic whether they choose to feed the flames of the whole thing. For me, it’s no big deal. Free speech means free expression. Period.

    Like

  5. I know a lot of people are upset because they don’t think this is fashion or art, but I personally don’t really care if it’s either one. I just think it is crazy that everyone is so wrapped up in what she does with her life that it turns into a huge debate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

