This is Why People Hate Walmart

walmart_casestudy_design_logo-1_959_487_90_c1

To me, the best part of Halloween is picking out my costume. Over the years I have been a variety of things, including a clown, Brittany Spears, and my personal favorite, a washing machine. Some costumes I made myself, but for many of them I got to go to the store and pick one out. It was awesome to stare down the aisle of the store and choose my “alter ego” for one night.

Walmart can be the go-to for everyone’s Halloween needs. They have the candy. They have the cookies. And they definitely have the costumes. A search for “Halloween Costume” on their site gave me more that 35,000 options. But Walmart made a big mistake this Monday, October 27th. One section of costumes was labeled “Fat Girl Costumes.” No one knows if this was some kind of joke or not, but if it was that is disgusting. The page was taken down around 11:00 that morning. The Walmart spokesperson said about the incident, “This never should have been on our site. It is unacceptable, and we apologize. We are working to remove it as soon as possible and ensure this never happens again.”

Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 12.36.15 PM

 

The website Jezebel, who first reported the story, could only guess that it was a named used in categorizing the different pages of costumes, and someone just forgot to change in.

Seriously Walmart? I would like to know what the person was thinking when her or she put this page online. How can something like this slip through the cracks and go unnoticed. I mean proofreading is NOT that hard people!!!! This only deepens my hatred for Walmart, and I am sure I am not the only one who thinks this way. I would like to see if their Halloween sales decrease after this. I certainly would not buy my costume from here anymore.

Here is a video from ACB News with more information and some other big time blunders from companies:

Do you think Walmart’s apology was enough? Or should they be doing something else to try and make their image better?

 

 

Bahadur, N. (2014, October 27). Walmart Was Offering A Special ‘Fat Girl Costumes’ Section In Its Online Store. Retrieved October 27, 2014.
Merlan, A. (2014, October 27). Walmart’s Website Features a Section of ‘Fat Girl Costumes’ Retrieved October 29, 2014.
Mullins, J. (2014, October 27). Walmart Apologies for Fat Girl Costumes Label on Site. Retrieved October 27, 2014.
Walmart Apologizes for ‘Fat Girl’ Costumes. (2014, October 28). Retrieved October 30, 2014.
5 thoughts on “This is Why People Hate Walmart

  1. Call me crazy but this most certainly could have been one insensitive website editor who forgot to change the heading before he/she made the page live. I think that a large and established organization like Walmart would have seen this red flag way before it became a problem.

    Like

    • I agree that this was probably the wrong doing of one website editor. I don’t think Walmart as an entire company thinks as “plus size costumes” (something I think is kind of rude anyways) as “fat girl costumes.” I don’t really think there’s much Walmart can do other than apologize… it’s not like they can take back their actions. If something like this were to happen again, then I think it would need something more than an apology.

      Like

  2. I was amazed that this could happen. My initial reaction was just laughter, I thought that it was hilarious. I was just imagining the internal reaction to this at Walmart and how much of a mess this error must have created. I can’t imagine what explanation Walmart could possibly come up with to try to smooth this over, because it is clear and obvious to the public that Walmart internally identifies those costumes as costumes for fat chicks, which is obviously offensive. I feel as though there is nothing that they can do but avoid digging themselves in a deeper hole, and just let time heal the wound.

    Like

  3. First of all, I thought this was hilarious as well. Second, it reminds me of the DiGiorno #whyIstayed epic fail twitter incident. Just another instance when someone doesn’t double check before submitting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

