How low-key artists sell their products through advertising

As I thought about what my blog would be about today I was flipping through Instagram. As I scrolled through the new posts I can across a few people that I follow who are artists. It is obvious how mainstream artists can reach mass amounts of people all over the world and are very successful. What intrigued me about these local artists if you will is how they are able to expand their audience and fan base based on social media outlets such as Facebook and Instagram. One of my coworkers is a very talented artist. Though it is not his only profession he is slowly but surely gaining ground in the art world and expanding his clientele. As of right now he currently has 888 followers on Instagram and 188 on Facebook. When i talked to him the other day he said that his strategy for reaching new targets was to make connections and appeal to people who would like his style of art. I think it is interesting to see how on some sites if you like a post other post similar to those that you may like pop up and BOOM you have reached a new target audience member. Another example of someone is who I follow on Instagram that lives in England. She is young but her artistic talent has gained her over 147,000 followers on Instagram alone. I think this is incredible that such a young artist can reach so many people all from a cellphone. With that being said I wanted to talk about this because I think it is awesome that local artists now-a-days can reach great lengths of success all behind a computer screen. Advertising an individuals product goes far beyond word of mouth and physical appreciation. In the hype of social media, it has become accessible for people to reach others who may have otherwise never head of them because of location or lack of technology.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 2.20.23 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-23 at 2.25.42 PM

What type of impact do you think this form of media can help those who otherwise would not gain as much instant success as they do because of Instagram etc.?

Do you think social media is a good place to advertise your brand and product?

Leave a Reply

