How Far Is Too Far?

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for what the organization FCKH8 stands for. FCKH8 is a non-profit company that sells t-shirts, most often emblazoned with slogans relating to marriage equality, feminism, sexism, and racism. They are very passionate about what they do, in fact, when I visited the webpage to look up information on the organization, a live chat service popped up asking if I had any questions about what they did or about the website. But one advertisement that they have just recently started to run didn’t really appeal to me.

The new campaign focuses on women’s rights issues. They discuss equal pay, the fact that 1 in 5 women will be sexually assaulted or raped by a man in her lifetime, and general sexism that exists. The spokeswomen for the advertisement discuss these issues in the normal way that PSAs go, except there are two major differences. They employ the frequent use of the f-word and its variants, and also the spokeswomen are little girls. It is called: F-Bombs for Feminism.

Screenshot (103)

Most of the time language such as that doesn’t bother me, you might hear me use it sometimes, and being around college students all day they become a part of the vernacular. But the use of expletives by young girls wearing princess costumes is just a bit inappropriate to me. I understand that the words were used to give shock value to the cause. In fact, the point is supposed to be that it is so shocking to society that these little girls have potty mouths and not that 1 in 5 women are sexually assaulted. But watching it is just so difficult for me and makes me wonder what kind of parent would encourage this.  You can watch it for yourself on the front page of the FCKH8 website (it was taken down from YouTube and Vimeo).

http://fckh8.myshopify.com/

So to me, I feel that generally the use of expletives by young children is a no. There is a reason that this type of thing just isn’t socially popular (does anyone remember the scandal around the movie Kickass?). I also feel that just because your organization stands for something good doesn’t mean that you have a free pass to shock people with generally accepted immoral things. It just doesn’t sit well with me.

What do you think? Is this ok? Or is there a line that shouldn’t be crossed?

Cullers, R. (2014, October 22). Watch This 6-Year-Old and Her Friends Drop F-bombs for Feminism (and to Sell Clothes). Retrieved October 22, 2014.

FCKH8.com. (n.d.). Retrieved October 22, 2014.

5 thoughts on “How Far Is Too Far?

  1. I understand that they are using a shock appeal in order to grab people’s attention by using young children using the expletives, but I do agree with the author that they crossed the line doing that. There were so many ways that they could have addressed this issue by not bringing young children into the picture. It’s actually discrediting them by advertising in this manner.

    Like

  2. This is a tough one for me. It was refreshing and funny to see these girls say “fuck” for a good cause, but by the end I was over it. The shock value and hilarity was quickly diluted, and I clearly got the message after the first minute or so. It was a really good try, but by the end I wasn’t into it anymore.

    Like

  3. I don’t think this video went to far. Inequality between men and women is a current issue in today’s society, and more people need to take it seriously. Today’s society is so numb to this issue now. Therefore, the creators of the video probably knew they needed shock-value to make the message stick.

    Like

  4. Inequality between men and women is definitely a current issue in today’s society, and I do think the issue needs to be presented to the public in a “wow” sort of way to get the message across. However, I think when using children, the cause crosses a line. The message I got from this was that there are some people who actually support that sort of behavior from children, moreso than the cause it was supposed to stand for.

    Like

  5. Personally, I think that it went too far. I just thought that the whole thing was classless and juvenile and portrayed feminists in a bad light. The profanity completely distracted me from the focus of the message. It was pure shock value, and nothing profound was said about women’s equality the entire time. When I finished watching, I did not identify it as a feminist video, I thought of it as “that video where all the little girls are dropping the F-Bomb and the older women are trying to sell t-shirts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

