Pink Slime for Dinner?

Growing up I had always had the predisposition that McDonalds was a slightly gross establishment. I had heard the rumors about burgers being made out of a “pink slime” and of a white chicken group being shaped into the form of nuggets. Not to mention the feeling of grease and general filth that I felt when I ate inside the place. Not that this ever stopped me from craving the food or even buying myself a burger or two. In fact, I would probably eat one now. It is just that my general idea of McDonalds is not exactly positive, especially when it comes to food quality.

Now that I am making adult decisions in my life, I generally try to eat a bit healthier when I do get fast food. Places like Chipotle, Qdoba, or Chik-fil-a are my go to places, and this is mostly because I believe that these places are (generally) better for me and are a bit cleaner and better run, and apparently I am not alone in this feeling. In recent years, McDonalds has lost a considerable amount of sales and popularity and this can be attributed to the loss of the millennial client base. Millennials are seeming to want to eat better and be healthier, most often going for establishments like chipotle for their fast food fix.

To combat this issue McDonalds has gone the route of transparency. They have recently released a series of videos that attempt to debunk the common myths of the restaurant chain. Some of these myths are about the previously mentioned “pink slime” and the general ideas of uncleanliness and fakeness associated with the food. The videos feature former “MythBusters” co-host Grant Imahara as he travels to the corporations processing plants, suppliers, and restaurant kitchens. A lot of the myths that they are trying to eradicate seem to be direct questions that are posed at their twitter account.

To me this seems like just the think McDonalds needs to get the millennials to come back. As a generation we seem to be very conscious about what we consume and how the companies we support are operated. Transparency is the best policy to me, and the ability for McDonalds to hide a very effective advertising tactic within an attempt to be a good corporate citizen is smart advertising in my book.

What do you think? Do you believe that they actually care? Or is this just wonderful advertising?

Here’s the video for you to check out yourself: http://bcove.me/fwnoxn85

Morrison, M. (2014, October 13). McDonald’s Launches Food-Transparency Campaign | CMO Strategy – Advertising Age. Retrieved October 15, 2014.

3 thoughts on “Pink Slime for Dinner?

  1. Interesting article and well written! I do, however, think that a large part of McDonald’s decrease in sales can be attributed to the varying competitors that have since risen, coupled with the prevalence of new media. New media and video sites such as YouTube are the reason that consumers are more informed. What’s more, I feel that healthier choices are true strides- it will be difficult for McDonalds to rebrand as a healthy option.

    Like

  2. McDonalds doesn’t need to rebrand itself. They have a huge consumer base that will continue to eat McDonalds food because it’s cheap and addictive. Recently, they have tried to appeal to healthy eaters, but no person who actually eats healthy will ever get a McDonalds salad. They will always have people to sell food to They don’t need to appeal to the “healthy segment” of consumers, because they would never be persuaded to eat McDonalds, regardless of new products and advertising.

    Like

  3. My mom works for Kroger and the Pink Slime scandal was a huge deal of the company. In response, Kroger pledged that their butchers would no longer include this tissue in their meats. It’s interesting from a public relations perspective to think about how a good buzz word can really impact a company.

    Like

Leave a Reply

