Advertising: This Time its Personal

When I see an ad come on TV, or even hear one on the radio, I usually feel as though it is doing nothing more than wasting my time.  Of course, there are some exceptions, and every now and then I will see an ad that is entertaining, or that is advertising something that I am particularly interested in.  However, most of the ads that I see either do not apply to me, or are simply just not appealing to me.  For this reason, I have never really liked advertising.

I think that if the ads were more relevant to me and my life and interests, I would have a less hostile attitude toward advertising, or maybe I would not feel as though every ad was just wasting my time.  However, I have never viewed ads that are designed to apply to my life as a legitimate possibility, until now.

Dorothy Pomerantz, a writer for Forbes, recently wrote an article entitled, “Advertising is About to Get a Lot More Personal.”  In the article, she explained that the future of advertising is personalized ads.  The article included a video link from the movie Minority Report that depicted advertising so personalized that it mentioned the listeners/viewers by name.

When I see an ad come on TV, or even hear one on the radio, I usually feel as though it is doing nothing more than wasting my time.  Of course, there are some exceptions, and every now and then I will see an ad that is entertaining, or that is advertising something that I am particularly interested in.  However, most of the ads that I see either do not apply to me, or are simply just not appealing to me.  For this reason, I have never really liked advertising.

I think that if the ads were more relevant to me and my life and interests, I would have a less hostile attitude toward advertising, or maybe I would not feel as though every ad was just wasting my time.  However, I have never viewed ads that are designed to apply to my life as a legitimate possibility, until now.

Dorothy Pomerantz, a writer for Forbes, recently wrote an article entitled, “Advertising is About to Get a Lot More Personal.”  In the article, she explained that the future of advertising is personalized ads.  The article included a video link from the movie Minority Report that depicted advertising so personalized that it mentioned the listeners/viewers by name.

That may seem like science fiction, but believe it or not, the advertising world is creeping ever closer to making that a reality.  The most recent step towards ultra personalized advertising has come in the form of new technology and methods of acquiring extremely detailed information about who watches what.  That technology is utilized in the form of programmatic advertising.

Programmatic advertising allows executive brands to buy advertising based on automated data rather than by a specific television show.  For example, thanks to programmatic advertising, a brand can now say that it wants to reach teenage girls in the suburbs, and instead of having to choose which show they think would give the best chance of doing that, they can simply tell the advertising agency about their target demographic, and the agency will use the advanced automated data to make sure that the demographic is reached as effectively as possible.

Personally, I would like more personalized advertising.  If I am destined to spend time watching ads, I would rather have them be relevant to me than some ads that are meant for little kids or senior citizens.  What do you think?  Do you believe that the increased personalization of advertising is a good thing?  Bad thing?  Or are you indifferent?

References

  • Pomerantz, D. (2014, October 9). Advertising Is About To Get A Lot More Personal. Retrieved October 9, 2014.
One thought on “Advertising: This Time its Personal

  1. Personally, I think that I would be more bothered by an advertisement that was personalized. The invasiveness of mentioning a consumer by name feeds into a very “Orwell-ian” 1985, big brother, atmosphere. Pretty cool how far advertising has come, but how far is too far?

    Like

Leave a Reply

