You’ll Never Have to Pee in the Woods Again

At the beginning of August, I took a vacation to Sardegna, Italy, to conclude my summer before school started. One morning while I was in my hotel a few infomercial’s started to play. Normally I would change the channel, but I wanted to see what infomercial’s might consist of in a different country. 

index_03_03

“How many times has this happened to you? You’re playing 18 holes with your best buddies, drinking water, beer, sports drinks, etc. You’re coming up to the 3rd hole with no rest room in sight. There are no trees or bushes around and you just have to go, what are you going to do?
The UroClub™ is the discrete, sanitary way for your urgent relief. Created by a Board Certified Urologist, it looks like an ordinary golf club, but contains a reservoir built into the grip to relieve yourself. The UroClub™ is leak proof, easy to clean and no more embarrassing moments.”
(https://www.uroclub.com)

Overall I think the commercial is effective, and it uses humor to appeal to its audience.

It says “no more embarrassing moments,” but what if you are out with your boys golfing and trying to be discrete with this club, and then they find out what you are really doing? Should you just tell them what it is from the start? I thought this particular advertisement was kind of funny and unique, but from a woman’s perspective I feel that this item is unnecessary. This idea seems more like a gag gift that you would give to someone as a joke. It also seems like more of a hassle to do this, especially when it comes to cleaning the club. Lastly, the club is claimed to be leak proof so then does that mean you have to carry a club full of urine around until there is somewhere that you can empty it?  

I think this product could be improved by the company. One way this could be done is if the club was made to be more like a funnel instead of having to carry urine around. By doing that I feel like more people would probably be interested in this product because no one wants to carry pee around all day.

I would like to know what a mans perspective on this product is. How would you feel if you received this as a gift? Would you ever use something like this? 

 

References:

Matco Enterprises • UroClub™. (n.d.). Retrieved September 4, 2014. website: https://www.uroclub.com

 

4 thoughts on “You’ll Never Have to Pee in the Woods Again

  1. This is genius. As a woman this is of no use to me, however I think that my boyfriend would love this as a gift. There is nothing worse than having to leave the course to “go” or having to run into the woods. Informational factor was intriguing and covered enough humor.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post really stood out to me. It stood out to me for the same reason that the commercial would stand out to me if I saw it; the product is very unusual. This is the type of commercial that I would actually watch, because I find it funny and lighthearted. It reminds me of a commercial like the snuggie commercial, which is popular because of the product and how ridiculous it is. I think that these type of ridiculous products can be very hit or miss, but when they hit they can be a big success.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Commercials that are unexpected and catch you off guard I think are the most successful. If you can get someone to think about something in a different way, especially by including humor which can be hard to execute…you’ve got a winner. Hilarious product!

    Like

  4. I am not sure how I feel about this product; however, the advertising is definitely genius! It’s not every day that you see a product like this- it definitely stands out. I think this strategy to be funny is the most effective way for the brand to market their product. It is a funny product!

    Like

Leave a Reply

