Chocolate or Poop?

On the shuttle ride home today, I was aimlessly looking out the window, thinking about taking a nap, when we drove by the Hershey’s store, and I thought to myself, “who even goes there anymore?” Ghirardelli is across the street, and how big of a market can there honestly be for a candy store? I personally am not a big chocolate person, or sweets for that matter, but I do understand the appeal to some people of getting a chocolate bar that’s bigger than their head. My thoughts were that Hershey’s doesn’t seem as prevalent as it used to, and to my surprise while surfing the Internet tonight, I was right.

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 12.46.29 AMAs it turns out, Hershey’s, now Hershey, has been in the works of rebranding their image to be more inclusive of all their candies and confectionaries, instead of just their chocolate. A few days ago, on September 2nd, 2014, they unveiled their new brand logo to the world, and, of course, they have received some harsh backlash. Some critics on Twitter are saying that the company’s redesigned logo looks like it has everyone’s favorite iPhone Emoji in it.

Personally, I think the new logo looks amazing in comparison to their old logo. The old logo was cluttered and complicated, with its realistic Hershey Kiss in it, tin foil and all. The new logo is sleek and cohesive. My only real complaint with the logo is that I think it’s rather repetitive for it to say “Hershey,” and then have “The Hershey Company” right underneath it. Personally, I don’t see the Emoji within the logo, because I am familiar with the Hershey Company and with Hershey kisses, but many people feel differently.

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 12.19.25 AMThe Hershey Company is over a hundred years old, much older than the idea of a turd Emoji on the iPhone was even conceived. It is interesting to think about how the people at Hershey are feeling about all their hard work and money being put into a rebranding effort, only for the Internet to take a glance at type, “lol, that looks like the shit emoji #ew.” What if Hershey had rebranded their company ten years ago? People would have thought that the Emoji looked like a Hershey, and not the other way around. It makes me wonder: what products, images, logos, companies, etc. have been laughed at or ridiculed when they tried something new?

What do you think of Hershey’s new logo?  Is it delicious or shitty? 

 

 

Rudy, M. (2014, September 2). Hershey’s New Logo Is a Buzzkill Online. Retrieved September 3, 2014, from AdWeek                      website: http://www.adweek.com/news/advertising-branding/hersheys-new-logo-buzzkill-online-159839 

Patterson, S. (2014, September 2). Hershey’s New Logo Accompanies Corporate Rebranding. Retrieved September 3,                   2014, from WebProNews website: http://www.webpronews.com/hersheys-new-logo-accompanies-corporate-                   rebranding-2014-09

 

 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate or Poop?

  1. I have always loved the Hershey Kisses with almonds. It was one of the things I looked forward to having in my stocking at Christmas as a kid. I also used to enjoy their commercials around the holidays or SuperBowl as well. I’m glad they are trying to revamp their image, but it does look a little boring. I am kind of disappointed in their lack of effort to be honest.

    Like

    • If it were part of their marketing strategy they would be essentially trying to sell their product off as poop, which seems like a poor decision to me. If they wanted to relate to new generations with an emoji there’s a chocolate bar emoji that would work just fine. They could also attempt to have the chocolate bar emoji branded with their logo in the upcoming iOS update. Hershey’s overall campaign idea is not great and they should definitely rethink their overhaul.

      Like

  2. I think that the new logo is perfect for the modern streamline society that we live in. The minimalist look of the logo, along with dropping the ” ‘s ” from the Hershey makes the already distinguishable brand stand out

    Like

  3. While I do think that the new logo looks like the poop emoji, I still do not think that it is a bad logo. Because even though it reminds me of that emoji, it also gets me thinking about Hershey’s Kisses. So I think that the logo is good because it has gotten a lot of people talking about it. It has brought a lot of publicity to Hershey, and if the new logo did not look like poop then it is pretty likely that I would not be talking about Hershey right now and I would not be thinking about Hershey’s Kisses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

