The World Loves Him, Doraemon

I am going to start my blog post with a simple question again. Last time we talked about favorite movies, right? Well, this time I want to go back in time thinking about our childhood memories and tell me

“Your favorite cartoon lists.”

Let me go first! I have a lot of favorite cartoons. I watched many of them when I was young, from Disney, Pixar and Cartoon Network to Studio Ghibli and other fun Japanese animations and one of my favorite cartoons is……..

“Doraemon.”

Doraemon1

Doraemon is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Fujiko F Fujio. The series is about a robotic cat named Doraemon, who travels back in time from the 22nd century to aid a pre-teen boy named Nobita Nobi. The series first appeared in December 1969 publishing simultaneously in six different magazines. Doraemon first appeared on TV in 1973. The animation was produced by TMS Entertainment and launched on the Nippon TV network. However, it was a brief and unsuccessful and only lasted for 6 months. In 1979, TV Asahi decided to bring it back on TV again but this time, it was much more successful.

Recently, there was an officially announcement that Doraemon is making his debut in the U.S. this summer as a part of Japan’s “Cool Japan” campaign to export the country’s pop culture around the world. The show already premiered since July 7 on Disney X D. There will be 26 episodes in total airing on weekdays at 12.30 p.m.

What interesting in U.S. version of Doraemon series is that there are some changes that have been made in the animation to fit American culture and customs as well as its guidelines on violence, depictions of discrimination, and depictions of sexual content. For instance, the setting will move from Japan to a fictional place in America, the main characters’ name is changed, such as, Nobita is now “Noby” and Giant is now “Big G” and also, Doraemon’s signature gadgets have been translated : the magical portal Dokodemo Door is now the “Anywhere Door”.
Doraemon

 

The reason I pick the topic about Doraemon to discuss today is because I think it is very interesting to see the way the cartoon has adapted its format to better serve consumer’s need. It originally started from being a manga published in magazines, then developed in techniques by adding color and creating movement to characters for airing it on TV. Furthermore, the animation is trying to reach global viewers as I mentioned above that it already airs in the U.S. with a little adjustment on visuals and content to match western cultures and people.

These are good examples to learn from. In order to keep a brand alive through time, brand has to adapt itself to fit new consumer’s need and behavior all the time. The more it can serve their needs, the more it can catch their heart.

 

References 

One thought on “The World Loves Him, Doraemon

  1. I love all of the cartoons that I grew up watching, which is why I loved this post so much. Ultimately, it is understandable that cartoons alter a few things here and there to suit a new audience better. Yet, I think it is important that an animated series does not lose it’s core that attracted people to it in the first place. On another note, I don’t think I’ve ever watched Doraemon. But I think it is worth checking out! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

