Your Television Experience Redefined

I am sure we have all seen the new commercials about the new Samsung “curved” televisions. Pretty interesting idea. I immediately asked myself, curved? Why? What is so revolutionary about this new television? They are called the UHD 4K HU 9000 Smart Series TV. It is supposed to make you have a more immersive experience. The picture quality is four times the resolution of your average HD and UHD televisions. Supposedly, the curvature provides amazing picture quality without any picture distortion. It also creates a panoramic view which allows the picture to feel bigger. Some other pretty dense features includes auto depth enhancer, UHD dimming, ‘pur’ color, precision black local dimming, ultra clear panel, wide color enhancer and UHD upscaling. From my understanding, in summation these features allow for better picture quality, automatic picture and sound adjustment, clearer color and a more profound television watching experience.

I read a few reviews from people who originally had your standard HD television and then decided to try the new curved television. David Katzmaier is a section editor for CNET and he has developed CNET’s TV procedures. Katzmaier says, “The friendly white-glove delivery guys arrived at my house yesterday around 10 a.m., brought the TV box inside, pulled off the top and then at my request, paused for a moment to let me take it in. Yep, it was curved.” A pretty reasonable reaction I would presume. Although I would’ve been a bit more excited to rip it out of the box to see how curved it really is. Katzmaier’s initial reaction after the television was set up is something I would have found myself analyzing as well. He says,

“Back in the living room I was struck by the way the curve of the set contrasted with the straight lines everywhere else. The TV stand. My tower speakers. Even the windows of the room itself. It definitely looked different, and in my view kinda odd, at least at first. But certainly more futuristic than my old TV, and not just because of the curve. Its lines were slimmer and its form more compact overall than my plasma, with its much thicker bezel and taller stand.”

I’d imagine how weird a curved TV would look in a home where lines are straight. And I would have immediately, maybe unintentionally start comparing the feel of the new TV to that of my old HD. I thought it was interesting that his wife didn’t like it and that his daughters said the cutest things. One commented on how her reflection appeared to be fat. And the youngest one started cooing at the new replacement. The wife also pointed out how after looking at it, it appeared smaller than the normal HD TV’s and sat a little lower. Katzmaier says how after watching it for a minute, he forgot about the curve. He also pointed out he didn’t get the more “immersed” feeling as the advertising tagline suggests. His last thoughts are as follows, “Back in the living room I was struck by the way the curve of the set contrasted with the straight lines everywhere else. The TV stand. My tower speakers. Even the windows of the room itself. It definitely looked different, and in my view kinda odd, at least at first. But certainly more futuristic than my old TV, and not just because of the curve. Its lines were slimmer and its form more compact overall than my plasma, with its much thicker bezel and taller stand.”

I’d be curious to other people’s opinions. I think I’d like a curved television. I am all about new angles and contemporary styles in my home. However, Katzmaier also makes a good point about price. If the experience doesn’t offer you a HUGE difference, I think enjoying movies on my regular 65 inch HD will do just fine.

I also think that if we can really understand all of the features of a television of this magnitude, our movie watching experience may change. It is interesting how people are really thinking outside of the box, defining a new edge and constantly stretching the boundaries of what is normal. Who says televisions have to be square? Who says they had to be bulky? Now they are flat. There is no telling what the future of our home entertainment will offer us. I am excited and quite pleased that technology continues to advance in ways people may not ordinarily think!!!

 

 

ImageImage

 

Sources 

 

Samsung, 2014, UHD 4K HU9000 Series Smart TV – 78” Class (78.0” Diag) 

retrieved from http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN78HU9000FXZA

 

Katsmaier, David, May 13, 2014 “My Life with a Curved TV Day 1”

retrieved from http://www.cnet.com

2 thoughts on “Your Television Experience Redefined

  1. This new television by Samsung caught my eye as well when I first heard about it through one of their advertisements last month. I think a curved television would definitely be a pretty cool piece to get for one’s home. Televisions are known to be square shaped, and they look identical to one another. However, Samsung is innovating the television world and it may make other companies jump on the bandwagon. I can picture various companies that are in competition with Samsung competing with them in the television market by bringing in various shaped televisions. On a final note, storytelling might not be the same after the “UHD 4K HU 9000 Smart Series TV”. Viewers may feel more attached to the stories by getting hooked on the stories they see in the small screen. This may make viewers adopt a stronger commitment to their favorite television series. At the same time, this may make storytellers tell more in-depth stories to their audience.

    Like

  2. Your post is inspiring. I have never thought about what feature dose a TV should have. And now I started to think about why all the devices around us have been designed into particular shapes? Like why we have to produce quadrilateral mobile devices? And this counter-intuitive thinking can help us observe the world in a different angle and generate creative ideas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

