Miley Cyrus 101

It is obvious that the media, pop culture, and trends have a direct impact on our society. But the impacts are stronger than ever. As the “Miley Movement” made way in early 2013, no one saw it coming nor the effects it would have. Miley Cyrus, the Disney Channel star who quickly rose to stardom after Hannah Montana aired in 2006, has made a full circle. She is now known for her outrageous behavior at award shows, her lack of clothes, her infamous tongue, and her (not so much) twerking skills. But now our obsession with media and pop culture has reached new levels. One accredited college is now offering a class on the pop star.

1395931085000-MILEY

Skidmore College in New York is the first college to offer the course which is titled “The Sociology of Miley Cyrus: Race, Class, Gender, and Media.” According to the professor,

 

“The course will examine the way women and their bodies are represented in society. It will also provide a better understanding of the way we see social problems play out through mass media, the way even trivial things, like entertainment reflect larger cultural conflicts on race, class, and social inequality.”

 

Personally, I don’t see how we can learn all this through examining Miley and her attention seeking behavior. But who knows, maybe Miley’s brain will allow for a new and modern way in understanding human behavior as well as its effects on inequality. Perhaps this is only the beginning of a new era in education. Rutgers University is also transforming the way that they teach in order to meet the needs of our generation. They are doing so by offering a class on an even bigger pop star: Beyonce. The college is offering the course of “Feminist Perspectives: Politicizing Beyonce.”

 

According to The Today Show, the reason why we are seeing a rise in classes that feature celebrities is because of this generation’s use of technology. Our access to technology enables us to be more connected to the media than ever. It also allows for students to fully engage and participate in a class that has actually sparked their interest. It is a new way of analyzing social behavior and social theory.

 

It will be interesting to hear feedback from students about this college class. We don’t usually think that the way we talk about pop stars is influenced by a combination of different factors. These classes will bring it all to light and challenge students’ way of thinking.

 

But will Miley go to college anytime soon?

Will she take a class focused on her own representation and behavior?

 

I sure hope so.

7 thoughts on “Miley Cyrus 101

  1. I think it is very ridiculous and crazy that they are offering a course about Miley Cyrus’s behavior. I think it is reaffirming her behavior and giving her more of a reason to act that way.

    Like

  2. I disagree. I think Miley Cyrus and other celebrities can be used as great educational examples to learn about the way our society views social norms and behaviors. The polarizing feelings we all have about Miley Cyrus are a result of our societal values. If we begin to understand where these issues stem from through a familiar and interesting topic like Miley, we will be able to move forward with an educated understanding of our surroundings.

    Like

  3. I disagree as well. I think that it’s a very good idea to use pop culture in examining media, feminism, sociology, etc. Our generation, especially, has grown up with the media covering every aspect of our lives. I think it’s important to analyze how it works. Also, it’s important to understand how pop culture affects societal norms; it is what we talk about, how we see ourselves, what we care about.. it plays a much larger role than people may realize.

    Like

  4. I agree with you I don’t think celebrities should be held at that type of standard. As others are saying if it is being used for examining media, feminism and sociology then great. But Its sketchy to me, well see if students actually benefit from it.

    Like

  5. I took a pop culture and media class and I thought it was really interesting. I agree, I think if it was taught correctly, celebrities could be used as great examples. How much students get out of it is another question, but I think it could have great potential.

    Like

  6. This sounds ridiculous but I understand their intentions. In college there were options of taking a music class focusing on the Beatles or a certain artist, that made sense. I’m not sure if anyone would benefit from the sociology behind Miley.

    Like

  7. I understand the intent and it’s relativity to the industry but not to education I think electives like that tend to give off the wrong message. In my opinion a class on Miley Cyrus will not teach me anything I do not know already now… Also I do not think i could benefit from a class where everything is current ( which I believe is good thing) but not relative to pop culture history not pop culture twerkers.

    I believe professors can use this artist as examples like Beyonce for example. Her song flawless shows her stance on feminism and shares her insight. This is an example of feminism but the song itself is not course worthy.

    I get the intent but not the actual purpose; I say “no” to Miley Cyrus 101!

    Like

Leave a Reply

