James Franco…Pervert or Marketing Genius?

James Franco is most known for his comedic charm, diverse choice in movie roles and his willing attitude to try almost anything. Recently though, a disturbing light has been shed directly on Franco due to him allegedly trying to create an intimate relationship with teenager. This entire ordeal began when an Instagram conversation surfaced, containing evidence that he was attempting to meet up with Lucy Clode, a 17-year-old Scottish tourist visiting New York.

This past Friday, Franco decided to share information about his actions on a few different media channels such as NBC News, and Live with Kelly and Michael. Franco admitted that he “used bad judgment.” Later he went on to say “I guess I am just a model of, you know, how social media is tricky. But what I have learned just because I am new to it, you don’t know who is on the other end.”

Personally, when I heard about this whole fiasco I was initially disappointed because I am a fan of Franco’s work. But  few days later after I heard about this being a possible publicity stunt for a new film that he is releasing my feelings instantly shifted over to thinking that Franco is not a pervert but instead a marketing genius. Why is he a genius? The film being Franco is releasing centers around a a man (Franco) who starts an inappropriate relationship with one of his teenage soccer coaches.

Below you will find a video clip of Franco’s confession to his creepy social media mistakes on Live with Kelly and Michael.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWQGECiTpOE

Below you will find a movie trailer for the new film that Franco is starring in, entitled Palo Alto.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTqMUu1iTIo

If  this whole situation is publicity stunt I think it is a really  genius idea. Before I knew that Franco was releasing a new film I was caught up in this drama of him being a pervert, and now I realize they could be linked. In my opinion this is guerrilla marketing at its finest. I admit this is  a very bold marketing tactic, and possibly offensive to actual people who have been in a similar situation, but none the less it created a a huge amount of media buzz.

We must keep in mind that this is all still speculation. Franco has yet to neither confirm or deny that his actions where purely for his up and coming film release. This being so, some fans are still on the fence about whether or not to continue supporting Franco or not.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Do you think this possible publicity stunt is a good idea or a bad idea for Franco?

 

Retrieved from: http://www.nbcbayarea.com/news/local/James-Franco-Flirtation-With-Teenager-Real-or-Palo-Alto-Publicity-Stunt-253948451.html

5 thoughts on “James Franco…Pervert or Marketing Genius?

  1. I think that if it is a stunt he should follow up making it clear that is what it is. I read about this in news articles, and they aren’t angling it toward his movie.

    Like

  2. I don’t really know how to feel about this as a marketing stunt. If it is, which I hope it is, it’s rather insensitive considering the amount of issues we have around this topic already.

    Like

  3. This as a marketing stunt doesn’t seem to brilliant for someone like James Franco. He should know the sensitivity of topics such as cyberbulling or cyberchatting, especially in a romantic way as he did. If it was a marketing stunt, it wasn’t a good one.

    Like

  4. If this was a marketing stunt for his upcoming movie, I do not think it did a good job. Yes I thought the story of what happened was funny and something to talk about amongst friends, but it certainly wouldn’t influence me to see or not see his movie.

    Like

  5. He’s smart but I honestly think he didnt know the girls age. I had a huge crush on him until I read about the girl and I still look at him differently now despite what he is doing to apologize. If it is a marketing stunt I think he will lose a lot of respect because that’s not something you joke around about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

