Cock in a Sock campaign

 

If you think shaving your head to support the cancer group/patients is crazy, then you’re wrong. The cancer awareness group has brought these campaign to a whole new level. For those who follow Buzzfeed, i’m pretty sure you’ve read about their latest post about the #cockinasock. #cockinasock is a online campaign run by James Brown and JustGiving (an online fundraising page).The Cock In A Sock campaign was created to spread the awareness of testicular cancer. So what exactly is Cock In A Sock? Why is this a hot topic on social media like Twitter and Instagram especially?

This online campaign is mainly aimed to gain donations from the people on internet for JustGiving, an online fundraising website, and also by supporting this campaign, the creator of this campaign, James Brown encouraged people to take and post a nude picture of themselves, where they cover their penis with sock onto the social media platforms. Within a day, many male social media users took their courages to post their nude with socks covered their penis on social media platforms. The campaign team also came up with hashtag of #cockinasock so people could direct to this topic easily.

The hashtag went viral in a day, and it’s been a hot topic on twitter. And of course, it has brought a huge controversy among the society. To me, i personally think it’s a really good and creative idea to spread the awareness. It’s a new way to educate the society on the testicular cancer. No doubt, the campaign and their official websites didn’t provide sufficient informations about testicular cancer, and many people have been arguing about this campaign is sickly done or whatsoever. But i personally think it has gained the awareness of testicular cancer. As they’ve mentioned, it’s to spread awareness, and now, people have been talking and discussing about this topic. Indirectly, it has successfully gained a lot of support and awareness from the public.

But however, i was really embarrassed to view these photos and related news in public. I was in a cafe, and was curios on this campaign, so i opened the page. When i saw those pictures, i quickly turned it off, as i thought it was kinda inappropriate to view these photos in public. Also, i personally thought awareness isn’t given until something “sensational” comes along. The society are aiming on sex appeal, and no doubt, sex appeal/sex really does sell. There’s no way to deny the fact is real.

 

Reference:

Stopera, M. (2014, March 25). Men Are Posting Pictures Of Their Penises In Socks On The Internet For Cancer Awareness And It Is So, So Good. Retrieved from http://www.buzzfeed.com/mjs538/men-are-putting-their-penises-in-socks-on-instagram-for-canc

12 thoughts on “Cock in a Sock campaign

  1. Whoa. I haven’t heard about this until reading this post. I think it’s a really bold way to raise awareness. Yet I too was embarrassed looking at these photos. Maybe they are trying to portray how embarrassed or uncomfortable people who are diagnosed with testicular cancer may feel.

    Like

  2. I saw this the other day and was cracking up. I wonder if it is too humorous of a strategy to use for such a serious campaign though… Either way, its a great way to get awareness out there.

    Like

  3. I don’t see why you would think this is “inappropriate” its a clever and unique way of raising awareness for a cause and did its job. If you were in a Cafe and opened it up and somebody saw you, it actually provides you an opportunity to explain to that person what the pictures are actually about and therefore increase awareness about the cause even further!

    Like

  4. Woah, this is the most bold campaign I have ever seen. I support the cause, and I agree with the comment above. It is a very clever way of raising awareness. I don’t know how I am just hearing about this though.

    Like

  5. A friend told me about this campaign and I had to check it out myself. I think this was a very creative and unique way to raise awareness to a serious cause. I can see how some people would think this is inappropriate, but its important to take out the “inappropriate” factor and see that it is for a serious cause and its doing a good job of raising awareness which is the point of it all.

    Like

  6. I personally think this is awesome. It’s so hard to get awareness or support for a cause these days because it seems like everyone has one. This was definitely a scandalous way to get attention, but it makes sense to me and I commend the folks who got involved. We are too squimish as a society and I am glad this campaign is getting lots of positive feedback.

    Like

  7. I am happy that awareness is being made about testicular cancer; however, I think there are better ways to bring about awareness. Yes it is somewhat funny and yes it is somewhat uncomfortable. I think this puts into question our morals and values…I don’t think this would fly in many other countries across the world. Just something to think about..

    Like

  8. I like what you said about something having to be sensationalized in order to make an impact. I am not necessarily against this campaign, its creative and funny and draws attention to a really important cause. But I do think its an interesting concept to have it go viral in order for it to be successful. I would like to have enough faith in humanity that we would give to important causes regardless. I did have a good laugh looking through these pictures though!

    Like

  9. This campaign is striking and did its job about raising awareness. I think it was genius going a different, uncommon route. Because sex does sell and has been more than ever prominent in our media, they took use of this commonality and asked what would attract people in the most effective way. Smart but at the same time hilarious.

    Like

  10. I can’t believe I hadn’t heard about this until I read your post. I thought it was hilarious, and also a great way to raise awareness. Like the other comments said, sex sells, and there are so many other causes out there that it is extremely difficult to get attention. Even so, I was in public while reading this post, and was super embarrassed when I got to the pictures. Still a great way to raise awareness, though, and probably part of the genius of it.

    Like

  11. > “I was really embarrassed to view these photos and related news in public.”
    > embeds said embarrassing pictures into his blog post

    Certainly a bold campaign that separates itself from the slew of other awareness causes.

    Like

  12. I think the way people go about raising awareness for different organizations and such has definitely gotten extremely creative over the past couple years. Coming up with #cockinasock was a particularly good strategy for a couple reasons. First off, it is a great way of drawing the attention of women for obvious reasons. On the other hand it also draws the attention of the male viewers because you have people who think its amusing and the new cool thing to do. Though I think for some this form of advertisement is effective, I think what often times happens is people forget the real cause of the campaign itself. Like the ice bucket challenge, I think there are going to be plenty of men who do this challenge and don’t fully understand the challenges and struggles of testicular cancer, just as I don’t think many people even understood what ALS stands for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

