Toms

toms_logo

In one of my classes today, we were discussing which were the campaigns that have been the most successful. After reading over different campaigns that revolutionized society, TOMS shoes continues to be one of the most prominent and impactive campaigns today. “One for one” are three words that influenced me into buying TOMS. TOMS was first established in 2006 after Blake Mycoskie, the founder, traveled to Argentina and was stunned by the necessity for shoes in this poor location. After this trip, Blake Mycoskie’s goal was for people to buy their shoes after being subject to the campaign “One for one”; “with every pair your purchase TOMS will give a pair of new shoes to a child in need. One for One” (One for one movement). Different public relations techniques were used for targeting the audience and helping them understand the concept of TOMS.

The first time I heard about TOMS was through social media. A page dedicated to TOMS and its purpose appeared on my Facebook newsfeed and caught my attention. After reading the article, I decided to follow TOMS on twitter to learn more about the company; I learned about their motto and what they stand for. Through Twitter, I saw a link that redirected me to Youtube and saw a video about a TOMS campaign. The video that I saw on Youtube touched me emotionally by seeing their facial expressions the children portrayed when they received their pair of shoes.

With the help of social media I was able to navigate through the internet and find more information about TOMS from the different social media sites. Social Media is accessible to many people and is shared rapidly which makes it easier for TOMS to expand their company’s horizons.

Even though social media had an impact on my knowledge of TOMS, word of mouth, or personal communication influenced my opinion greatly. Although I purchased TOMS and knew about them I did not understand the concept and purpose. It wasn’t until the founder, Blake Mycoskie, came to my high school and gave a presentation on TOMS that I was able to truly grasp the idea of what TOMS were. The personal communication between Mycoskie and the audience was the most powerful technique used. Hearing Mycoskie’s personal experiences made the concept of TOMS more realistic and touching. By expressing his personal feelings and emotions, I was hungry to learn more. I felt a more personal relationship with the product and was persuaded into wanting to help the campaign by buying more of their products. I was able to gain more knowledge of the various problems that are occurring around the world and felt a desire to create change. Blake’s presentation made the TOMS campaign relatable and inspiring. At the end of the presentation, I remember telling my friends what I had learned and wanting others to support the company through purchases of shoes.

Through time TOMS has grown into a well-known organization whose main purpose is to help provide shoes for children in Argentina. Because of this, they have earned media publicity that inspires ordinary people to make a change. TOMS main way of advertisement is through emotion. It targets conscientiousness people who have a strong desire to help. I am one of the many people that felt good about myself after buying a pair of their shoes because I knew that a child in Argentina was benefiting from my purchase. TOMS’ has done a revolutionary AD campaign influencing people to purchase shoes and make a change.

 

References 

3 thoughts on “Toms

  1. this is very true! it’s a great campaign and they’re shoes are so comfy and stylish 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    Like

  2. I love TOMS and so do most people I know! Blake had a great idea and for such a good cause! TOMS have come so far as a company, brand and has brought a lot of good for others. He has definitely taken the right steps through social media and public relations to get his brand out there.

    Like

  3. I agree completely! Tom’s does a great job using social media to get their product across. They do a great job pulling on the heart strings if their consumers through social media.

    Like

Leave a Reply

