Follow the Leader around the World

Russian photographer Murad Osmann has a very popular Instagram account called “Follow Me” in which he has a series of photos being led by his girlfriend Nataly Zakharova all over the world. In each photo Nataly has her back to the camera and has Osmann’s hand clasped in her own – making it look like she is constantly tugging him to the next destination. The project initially started off as a joke when Zakharova was getting impatient when traveling with photographer Osmann because of how many pictures he takes – she took him by the hand to drag him along and after Osmann snapped a picture of it, the idea was created.

Osmann’s Instagram account has 898,072 followers and his project has turned into quite a following – with many other individuals copying his project. The traveling duo have been to all sorts of exotic places and landscapes that are just dripping with color and culture. Here are just a few examples from his project:

Benidorm, Spain

Benidorm, Spain

Istanbul, Turkey

Istanbul, Turkey

Blue Mosque - Istanbul, Turkey

Blue Mosque – Istanbul, Turkey

There are countless numbers of these pictures – I love how this project has been created. It is such an ingenious way to incorporate not only social media, but your significant other into each and every photograph while making the entire project artistic. It’s refreshing to see digital story telling about traveling that isn’t quite as touristy as many of the other tourist photographers out there. I think this is a huge benefit that Instagram and other social media platforms have given us – not only has social media given us a way to share images, stories, and experiences with others, but it has given us a way to do so artistically. To raise the standard and upgrade from showing our close friends the camera film of our summer trip to Europe to making a statement in a larger context. Can anyone think of other ways that digital media has elevated or enhanced travel story telling? Do you think the convenience of social media platforms has made sharing experiences more or less meaningful?

References

(2013). Photographer’s girlfriend continues to lead him around the world. Retrieved from:

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/murad-osmann-follow-me

 

Osmann, Murad. (2014) Instagram account: follow me. Retried from:

http://instagram.com/muradosmann#

10 thoughts on “Follow the Leader around the World

  1. When I first saw this project, I loved it too. It’s a perspective that isn’t often shown. Usually travel photos are people standing in front of boring sights. This project is refreshing, but probably won’t be for long.

    Like

  2. This is so cool! It’s a great take on the typical tourist photos, and I love the story of how he got the idea. (I can relate — I hate waiting for people when I’m traveling.) I explored this on Instagram: These are amazing photos!

    Like

  3. I’ve seen this before and I think it’s a really cute idea. I know that there are specialty accounts on Instagram stay faithful to one theme–no matter how ridiculous–and post pictures of just that. I’m not saying that I follow Darcytheflyinghedgehog on instagram, but I’m also not saying that I don’t. (http://instagram.com/darcytheflyinghedgehog). The project you showcased is a lot more meaningful but platforms like Instagram are great for pinpointing a subject and gaining followers who are fans.

    Like

  4. This is such a beautiful concept. Not only is the photographer talented, the project also portrays a very tender love for his girlfriend, who he allows to take him around the world. The photographs are magnificent, and I’m sure they will be vivid reminders of their trips together.

    Like

  5. If this doesn’t scream “Pinterest,” I don’t know what does. The whole concept of cutesy ways of recording personal memories can make people (myself included) very cynical and snide, but even I have to admit that I’m a fan. I really love art, and I love the fact that he put these pictures up on a social site so that others can go to be inspired or interact with his art.

    Like

  6. It’s great to see the birth of a new art medium, and social media is the perfect place for that to happen. It can be incredibly difficult to break through, with millions of instagrammers posting the same “artsy” shots over and over, but this guy nailed it. Sure, his audience will probably be bored long before his travels come to an end, but he’ll have such a unique, beautiful record of she adventures she led him on, and he’s making good use of a great social media platform!

    Like

  7. I just wrote about the controversy that comes with Instagram and considering it photography, but I would say that I LOVED this person’s idea to do this. It’s very original and I remember that I responded to it in a positive way at first glance when I saw it on my Facebook Newsfeed, especially since it deals with traveling and seeing the world. The pictures are beautiful.

    Like

  8. Thanks for turning me on to this Instagram. It’s brilliant how he’s able to effectively post the same picture again and again, yet each one is distinctly its own. This goes far beyond just slapping a filter on an otherwise average photo.

    Like

  9. I’ve seen this before and I adore it. Its such a cute idea! If you were to describe it to someone without showing them, it would sound sickly sweet, but the pictures are really amazing and their trips together are enviable. I think, though, this is a good representation of new Instagram trends. There are a lot of artist on Instagram using innovative themes. People joke about how Instagram is a medium for wannabe photographers (I have made this joke and am also a wannabe) but accounts like this are really making Instagram credible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

