#LONGLIVEPRINT… Wait, are you serious?

I toyed with the idea of starting this blog as an obituary for all print media.

The Onion, the Tucson Citizen, the Cincinnati post, and the New York Tribune are some big name papers that lost readership while simultaneously experiencing a severe decrease in the value of their advertisement sales.

This is due to the fact that most companies (wise ones), have transitioned to purchasing advertisement space via online outlets- such as Facebook, Google, Spotify or Pandora, to name a few. Additionally, readers have found easier, faster, and cheaper ways to get stories that are even more convenient to get than walking to the end of the driveway each morning: the Internet.  

This transition from print to computer screen is like cancer for most news agencies, who fear that the value of good old fashion print will be lost by the time my generation is in our fifties. Which, if we’re being pragmatic, seems to be the inevitable case.

Last year Newsweek halted its print publication- just one example among many on how even big name companies can’t keep up with the rapidly advancing digital landscape that pushes magazines, among all other print sources, from mailboxes to Twitter feeds.

So you understand my surprise upon hearing that Newsweek was actually going back into the print business.

Image

It kind of sounds like they’re jumping out of a plane without a parachute.

The print version of Newsweek, which comes out this Friday, will cost more than it used to. This is primarily caused by the loss of ad-sales revenue that typically allows print sources to sell their subscriptions at a lower price than what it actually costs to make.

Personally, this makes me happy. I prefer hard copies of newspapers, magazines, etc., but as a child of the Digital Age, I find myself getting all of my information via the web. I wish this wasn’t the case, but ultimately it is too cheap and convient for me to just follow the New York Times on Twitter than to actually pay for their door-step delivered subscription. Although it may not be the most financially sound decision to head back into a dying field, even for a one-time issue, I like that Newsweek is fighting to stay afloat. #LongLivePrint, according to their Twitter.

This opens up many questions as to where exactly print news is headed, and what this means for other big name papers, magazines, etc. 

 

REFERENCE

–  Hauney, Christine. (3 December, 2013). Newsweek Plans to Return to Print. nytimes.com. Retrieved on March 3, 2014 from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/04/business/media/newsweek-plans-return-to-print.html?_r=0.

2 thoughts on “#LONGLIVEPRINT… Wait, are you serious?

  1. I’d say its a bold business move to go against the grain of the “Print is dead” mantra everyone believes so firmly in and place their ad campaign right in middle of it. I like it a lot and I think they can gain a lot from it by doing so. Interested to see where this leaves them a few months down the line

    Like

  2. I think that everyone kind of jumped the gun with the whole “print is dead” statement. While I don’t necessarily feel that reading news, books, etc. online is a trend, I think that it isn’t something people will continue to use ALL the time. Personally, I can only stare at a computer screen for so long before I need to do something else. I’ve always loved reading print and I refuse to switch from books to a Kindle. I think that it’s great Newsweek is going back to print and I have a feeling that it’s going to be more successful than people anticipate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

