Education, Hacked

Logan LaPlante is 13 years old.  Watch this video, and you’ll hardly believe it.  The boy is confident, articulate, intelligent, and his ideas are groundbreaking.  He gave up traditional school for what he calls “hackschooling,” an ambitious, highly motivated, and apparently, extremely effective approach to homeschooling.

Image

As I watched Logan talk, I was immediately reminded of my own education.  I was homeschooled for the majority of my education, and absolutely loved it.  Homeschooling for me meant getting my traditional schoolwork, reading, math, spelling, etc. out of the way in just a few hours.  By lunch, I was usually free to do anything.  Growing up, climbing trees, building forts, and riding my bike to the park was a part of every afternoon, not just the summer.  Never having homework to do in the evenings meant I could participate in twice as many extracurricular activities, and I became highly involved in theater, music, and dance, as well as a few sports here and there.  Meanwhile, I had all the free time I could have asked for, plenty of time to spend with friends, and all while receiving an absolutely incredible education.  Homeschooling did nothing but multiply my opportunities.

With today’s technological advances, the opportunities for a kid’s education, even just sitting on their couch with a laptop, are endless. There really is no need for a traditional school environment when learning can be so accessible to anyone who seeks it.

Sources

“Hackschooling makes me happy: Logan LaPlante at TEDxUniversityofNevada.” Feb. 12, 2013. TEDxTalks. Retrieved from YouTube: <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h11u3vtcpaY&gt;

5 thoughts on “Education, Hacked

  1. The efficacy of homeschooling is a pretty debated issue, and I personally have yet to form an opinion on it, so I found your blog post to be an interesting insight. The fact that you could get traditional schoolwork out of the way in just a few hours and could therefore devote more time to extracurriculars is a point I’ve never heard before, but it makes a lot of sense. I imagine it makes college applications much more competitive as well, because a student can have a great variety of activities and education. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Wow that is really awesome! This reminds me of my two best friends growing up who were also home schooled. Whenever I would go visit them, they would tell me about all the awesome stuff they were learning and how free their schedule was. Immediately, I was both jealous and very interested in this method of “untraditional” teaching.

    Like

  3. I thought this was really interesting! I was never home schooled or knew of anyone that was home schooled, so hearing about all the free time for extracurriculars and activities was cool. I would have loved to of been done with school work in just a few hours, so i could dedicate more time to sports since that is what I love doing. I can see home schooling becoming more popular especially with more opportunities occurring online.

    Like

  4. I wasn’t homeschooled, but I did have more of an alternative education as a child, so I’m always curious about other ways to learn. The thought of giving a child the chance to have a little more freedom seems perfect, but there’s also two sides to every story. Some children are going to benefit from a more rigid foundation, just like others are going to find the process detrimental. That being said, there’s no way to improve without new suggestions, and this kid definitely makes homeschooling seem like a viable option.

    Like

  5. I definitely think home school could be a great option for children but unfortunately, not all parents have the convenience of being able to afford to home school their kids and have the time to monitor them for the rest of the day. Some parents depend on public schools to ensure that their children are safe while they are at work. Traditional school does not only serve as an educational purpose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

