College Sucks!

Okay, well “sucks” is a little harsh but recently YouTube star Ryan Higa made a spoof video for a fake college with real issues that we as students face.

 

Here, watch the video, it’s pretty funny, but depressing…

Unfortunately college students are faced with these problems that don’t allow us to fully enjoy college like we should. The article is titled

“College is a money-devouring, time wasting Purgatory in an “honest’ recruitment ad- a parody so pointed it’s painful.” (Kiefaber)

While reading through the comments I found that most viewers agreed that it would be funny if it weren’t so true and depressing.

Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 11.53.32 AM

College promises us a degree, if we choose to spend our time here. Some students can’t handle the pressure and cost that comes along with a degree and drop out. With this degree, we eventually (or so we like to think) will get a job which will lead to money.

Simple equation…sort of. Personally, I have questioned dropping out of college numerous times because of the workload. I am a transfer and I went to a party school in Michigan before where the expectations were basically to show up to class. That’s one end of the spectrum but the other end is studying night and day and being so stressed out you can’t think.

Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 12.01.42 PM

Whether your issue is wanting more time to explore the city and hang out with friends and enjoy your youth before being out in the real world, or to have expenses cut dramatically, I’m sure college is stressing you out in some way. My parents described college as laid back and fun, and yes they went to class but they had a life outside of classes too.

Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 12.05.35 PM

“I never thought I’d wish to be back in high school again!”

Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 12.06.56 PM

I do value my education, and it sure is worth it. I think my time spent in classes will hopefully show that I am a hardworker and that Loyola is definitely rigorous. I am fun-loving so my personal view is that the course load could be a lot lighter and more time alotted for projects. I know the real world is full of deadlines but c’mon go easy on us.

Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 12.08.31 PM

 

4 thoughts on “College Sucks!

  1. I definitely agree. I find college to be more stressful than fun. Worrying about taking out loans and being in debt consumes most of my college experience. I could only imagine how college kids in the future will feel since I’m assuming the price for an education will only get higher.

    Like

  2. I agree that the stress and daily grind of college is extremely difficult to manage but I think that it is a part of becoming an adult. Although I strongly doubt my education and the courses I’ve taken at Loyola are worth the nearly $50,000 per year, I must admit that college has taught me how to manage all the different aspects of my life. Something I will have to do everyday as an adult.

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed this video it is very funny and entertaining. It has a theme of “honest advertising” and I agree with every word he is saying. College is becoming more of a financial burden then ever and is less optional than ever. Getting a job with only a high school degree is not only impossible but very unlikely. i think this kind of honest advertising puts things into perspective.

    Like

  4. I do agree that college comes with a high workload and high stress. The video is really true. I agree with the video’s message, but I think college is an essential transition stage for young adults. College gives us time to learn more about ourselves and make mistakes before they really count against us in the real world. However, I do think that the prices are way to high and don’t always lead to a perfect future post-grad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

