QR Codes

QR codes were once things that could be found nearly everywhere – on advertisements in the CTA, on physical goods, on billboards etc., but are they still relevant? QR codes stand for “quick response codes” in which one scans it using their phone and receives information relevant to the company who posts them. They are used for everything from fun facts to detailed information about a company or business or a discount one can use at a retailer.

An interesting use of QR codes is in a business sense. Featured below is a video detailed how QR codes can be used by businessmen to give potential consumers a way to contact and receive further information about the person.

In this sense, I believe that QR codes could still be relevant. When used in a business sense, they become a practical way to receive information about businesses and potentially get further involved in said business. Additionally, QR codes can be used to give information about current conditions. For instance, “The London Underground Tube stations placed QR codes which connect mobile users to a real time monitoring of train and bus schedules.” (PCR Agency). This provides the consumer with useful and applicable information that can help them with their day to day activities.

However, how many people are truly willing to download a QR scanner for their respective devices and use it frequently? In the article “Are QR Codes Still Relevant?”, the author makes a point in saying that “The biggest drawback that QR Codes have faced is the fact that neither Apple nor Android has released a smart phone with a built-in QR reader” (PCR Agency). This means that the consumer would have to make the conscious decision to download and use the app. I believe that many people don’t see the point or understand what benefits a QR code can have and therefore don’t make the effort to download it. If iPhones or Androids were to install a built in QR code reader, then the usage of QR codes could potentially go up. I think in that sense there could be a resurgence of them if phone carriers were to include QR code readers on their devices as mandatory apps. However, I think QR codes can be often dismissed as not worth the while or not providing relevant or significant information. QR codes are a dying aspect of digital technology, and it seems as if the downward trend will continue unless QR codes are made more informative or useful instead of generally including information that can be deemed useless or simply trivial.

 

—-

Himel, Drew (26 Apr 2013).  “Are QR Codes Still Relevant?” (http://blog.pcragency.com/blog/bid/271875/Are-QR-Codes-Still-Relevant)

3 thoughts on “QR Codes

  1. Personally, I think QR codes are one of the most useless inventions in the digital world. This summer I worked at a digital advertising company in New York and almost daily all of the strategist would bash on these little square boxes. While it seems that they had the potential to be useful, they’ve proven to be more of a hassle than anything. Almost anytime I’ve tried to use one, it either didn’t work or it was in a location that wouldn’t get service. It seems to be that companies would benefit more from placing a website tag on their advertisements than go through the trouble of producing QR codes. It’s also horribly inconvenient that you need to download an app to be able to use them. What if there was a QR code somewhere that you needed to act quickly on and you weren’t able to because you didn’t have the right technology?

    Like

  2. I see what you mean about QR codes. I have a scanner app, but I hardly ever use it, I just don’t see QR codes as often as I used to but I agree that they can still be useful if used correctly. I don’t know if QR codes are on their way out of style but I am a fan, so I decided to insert a small QR code in the corner of my card the links people to my LInkedIn page. I think QR codes can be useful in that sense.

    Like

  3. I never used a QR code and I never really understood them either. It seemed to me like it was just an extravagant way to list your website URL. I guess it would take your phone directly to the website rather than hoping you would go on your own. I think they were incredibly short-lived and ugly as sin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

