Just Another Cat Website

I really wish that I could say that I am not one of those Single White Females who spends an obnoxious amount of time looking at pictures of cats on the internet.

But…that would be a lie.

In fact, the better part of two decades worth of wistfully eyeing kittens finally culminated this past October when I adopted a kitten from a local no-kill shelter. The cat craze that I had been ignoring for so long finally sprung free. And all of a sudden I couldn’t get enough. If there was something to be googled, I was googling it, from advice on cat training to the toys least likely to be destroyed.

So of course when I found a link to a website that promised pictures of cats, I promptly wasted the better part of an hour scrolling through all of the links. It never occurred to me to stop and consider what I was doing or how I was doing it. I just knew that I liked pictures of cats doing stupid things and blindly followed.

 

 

In a way, my blog posts so far have been focused ent3EMLbAuirely on the benefits of having lives that are so intertwined with technology. Sometimes it’s good, sometimes it’s bad, but most of the time we can’t even pause to realize it. Maybe that’s because technology isn’t always inherently good or bad. Sometimes it’s just a tool that we now have the ability to use to the best of its ability.

Most of the time, the technology that I use is related to entertainment. I’m a COMM major, so a great portion of my classes require that I watch movies or use the internet to get my work done. It’s hard for me to imagine a world without technology because this is my world. My world is a world with technology. To me and to many others my age, wasting away a few hours on the internet is so common that it’s almost a rite of passage. Many of my friends are joking that Netflix is their Valentine.

This is our world now. Computers inside of phones and pieces of glass and all kinds of other things. There’s always going to be bad things that come with it, and there’s always going to be good things. I don’t get to choose when I live or the way that the world works. All I get to do is choose what I do with my life.

And sometimes, that means looking at cat selfies.

 

References:
N/A. (2014). Cats Taking Selfies. Retrieved from: http://www.sadanduseless.com/2014/01/cats-taking-selfies/

One thought on “Just Another Cat Website

  1. this is funny! It reminds me of Anchorman 2 and he’s the cat photographer. But I agree that the internet has allowed for so many weird/funny fads to come up that we never could’ve imagined in a world without technology. I think it has allowed us to be more creative and think out of the box overall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

