Bye Bye, Facebook

Though I am a 19-year-old college sophomore, I’m starting to feel like the crotchety old man who refuses to buy a “cellular phone” or a laptop computer. What makes me feel this way? Facebook.

I was one of the first of my friends to use the website, having transitioned from MySpace to Facebook as a freshman (I’m what we in the business call an “early adopter”). Since then, I’ve been a loyal addict, updating statuses and uploading photos with the best of them. So it unsettles me when I hear that Facebook is dying-a rumor I tried to brush off until I read Victor Pineiro’s latest article on Ad Age.

In a presentation to eighth graders at a local junior high school, Pineiro asked the students what social media platforms they were most likely to use (interestingly, the students were largely unfamiliar with the term “social media platform” to begin with). While I would expect Facebook to be the most popular platform, only 2 out of 120 students used the website frequently. 115 frequented Instagram, while 85 chose Twitter and Vine, and 80 used Snapchat (students could have multiple answers).

These websites isolate specific aspects of Facebook into specialties; Twitter is largely text-driven (a tweet is equivalent to a status in my mind), while Vine focuses on videos and Instagram focuses on photos. It seems strange to me, but the appeal may lie in the fact that the students’ parents are stuck on Facebook while they have free-reign to post whatever they want on the other platforms.

What is unique about these platforms is that they are what is considered “dark” social media-media that is hard to analyze or measure. Snapchats disappear in ten seconds. The nature of this media makes it hard for marketers and advertisers to figure out best how to utilize the platforms to analyze. I have noticed personally that there seems to be more privacy on platforms like Instagram, where it is more difficult to circulate images, especially if accounts are blocked (users can’t “share” photos like on Facebook, and only followers of a user can see that user’s content).

Pineiro advises that advertisers should tap into these largely-untouched platforms if they want to attract the younger generation.

References
Pineiro, V. 2014, 15 January. 8th graders point the way to a new social strategy. AdAge.com. Retrieved February 14, 2014 from http://adage.com/article/digitalnext/8th-graders-point-a-social-strategy/291090/.

6 thoughts on “Bye Bye, Facebook

  1. I’m not too concerned about the death of Facebook myself, especially if the evidence lies in 8th graders not using it. I think Facebook will still be used heavily by College students of our generation, despite if kids continue to join. Even if it does die, I’m sure the social media sites that take over will be adapted to handle more traffic/ads so they can make as much money as possible.

    Like

  2. The life cycle of various sites on the internet are remarkably short, so I think the fact that Facebook made it to ten without some kind of major catastrophe is a major deal. Personally, I had to wait to get a Facebook account, and by the time I was able to convince my mom that I wasn’t going to become pedophile bait, some of the lure was already gone. And yeah, the fact that my parents (and grandparents) are now on it does sort of put a damper on things.

    Like

  3. I agree with sfogarty2014… But also, I think that FB has become a part of daily life that has even been expected even in the workplace. I have had jobs where I was required to join the FB page for the business so that I could be easily messaged and updated on events and schedules.

    Like

  4. People using SnapChat, twitter, and instagram seems to point to that people are mainly using social media to be social and in charge of what gets sent/shared. Facebook has become too infiltrated with advertisements and people have gone off in different directions to make our time on the internet more personal with our friends rather than a huge status update for the whole world to see. I personally agree with the people who said they frequent snap chat, twitter, and instagram over Facebook.

    Like

  5. Tan…

    Is Facebook really dying when you, personally, get over a hundred likes on a profile picture?

    Just a thought xoxo

    But yes I do agree it is remarkably slowing in growth and we’re all waiting for the next best thing.

    Like

  6. I have noticed that Instagram is hugely popular with younger kids. They have ridiculously large amounts of followers and post so often it can be hard to keep up. I have noticed that they use Instagram differently than most of my friends. They treat it more like it’s Facebook and post more than just pictures with “artsy” filters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

