Battle of the Browsers

“You still use internet explorer? I know you’re a 90’s kid, but really, it’s time to get into the 21st century”. This is along the lines of something I said to someone while borrowing their computer and noticed they used IE. Recently in class, we had a show of hands to reveal who used which web browser. The contenders were Google chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari, and Firefox. No one in the class raised their hand when asked about IE. Either it is the least popular web browser, or whoever uses it was too embarrassed to admit it. This got me thinking, sure, I poke fun at people who still use it, but why? Don’t all web browsers essentially have the same function? I realized I have no basis whatsoever for ragging on people, other than the fact that I’ve seen internet memes making fun of it, or heard other people (who may be somewhat more technologically literate than me) bash it.

 Image

As we later learned in class, the purpose of a web browser is to read HTML. So I decided to do some research on what makes one browser more popular than another. I can remember using IE when I was first learning how to use a computer at school. When I got my own, (a mac) I started with Safari, then went to Firefox, and now I use Chrome after my dad told me “it’s just better” (although I generally trust his computer advice, because for someone over 50 he’s surprisingly technologically savvy).

 Image

            I found an article comparing these four browsers, giving pros and cons of each. IE had the most cons, including the fact that it is heavily targeted by thieves and hackers, has lots of bugs, and can have slow installation times. However, it is the most widely used browser, with Google chrome coming in at second place. Pros were that IE offers support by both email and phone and that it’s free. These are not particularly impressive in the “pros” list in comparison to other browsers. Safari boasts fast page-load times and cleans up “unnecessary junk”, but has lack of customization and it’s support system can be lacking. Firefox offers more security and customization options, but uses a lot of a computers memory to run. In the list, Google Chrome had the most pros and the least cons. It has fast browsing, control over tabs, a built in PDF and flash support, is integrated with Google so searching is easier, and many other benefits. The only cons were a lack of parental control options, some site incompatibilities, and an issue with graphic cards. So now I at least have some backing for my opinion, and feel somewhat validated. What’s your favorite browser and why?

References

Fadadmi. (Designer). (2013). The Best browser [Web Graphic]. Retrieved from http://funnyasduck.net/post/583

Jackson, A. (2012, 06 08). Comparison on all major web browsers: internet explorer, safari, firefox, and google chrome. Retrieved from http://articles.centennialarts.com/2012/06/08/comparison-on-all-major-web-browsers-internet-explorer-safari-firefox-and-google-chrome/

One thought on “Battle of the Browsers

  1. Its very interesting how this article analyzed the pros and cons of different internet browsers because I definitely didn’t realize why I had a preference for some over others. I initially changed from safari and internet explorer to google chrome because of speed. I quickly learned how much I loved all the features on google chrome including the ability to personalize your browser in ways that others did not allow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

